Our board

Fitzroy Basin Association is a medium-sized, non-profit organisation. We boast a friendly and motivated team, working on meaningful regional projects.

Fitzroy Basin Association board members represent a strong cross-section of the central Queensland community. They are drawn from agriculture, mining, government, community, traditional owner groups, conservation, science and industry backgrounds.

A dedicated and talented team of fourteen, our board works to shape the strategic vision and objectives of FBA. They oversee the Chief Executive Officer and FBA’s operations, ensuring legal and financial responsibilities are met.

Our Strategic Plan, developed by the board, guides FBA in its mission to empower our region with the resources, knowledge and skills to maintain our natural assets for future generations.

Sean Conaghan

FBA Board Chair

Sean manages Barmount Station, a cattle grazing, irrigation farming, dryland grain farming and intensive livestock production enterprise near Marlborough. Sean is an active participant in the ongoing ten year review of the Fitzroy Basin River Operation Plan and has worked closely with community members with a wide range of views.

His extensive knowledge and experience across the agricultural industry in the Fitzroy Basin led to his re-election to the FBA Board in 2014 and then to his appointment as Chair of the NRM Committee in 2012.

Annette Smith

Chair Finance Audit and Risk Committee

Annette is a Senior Property Valuer with Taylor Byrne based in Emerald. Annette was Vice-Chair of the Emerald Pastoral College Board, prior to the amalgamation of Queensland’s four agricultural colleges. Annette is the previous Chair of the Central Highlands Regional Resources Use Planning Cooperative Ltd (CHRRUP) one of FBA’s delivery partners, from 2008 to 2013 and won the 2012 Queensland RIRDC Rural Women’s Award.

Annette was appointed by the Minister of Energy and Water Supply to Chair a Local Management Arrangement Board concerning irrigation channels in the Central Highlands. Annette was elected to the FBA Board in 2013.

Ian Herbert

Ian has an active involvement in conservation and is on the management committee of Capricorn Conservation Council (CCC). He is an electrical engineer and has previously been employed in the telecommunications industry and as an engineering lecturer at CQU. He also operated a small contracting business engaged in mine site revegetation with an emphasis on dry-rainforest.

Ian is a member of the Central Qld Mine Rehabilitation Group. He was elected to the FBA Board in 2013.

Dennis Cormack

Dennis lives at “Goorewan” at Guluguba, on a 5500 acre mixed farming operation comprising of cattle, winter and summer crops. Dennis has been involved with the Department of Primary Industries (DPI) for the past 20 years with legume trials being held at “Goorewan”.

Dennis was previously the Chair of the Dawson Catchment Coordinating Association (DCCA), one of FBA’s delivery partners, from 2010 to 2012, and has also been involved with the Taroom Shire Landcare group for many years. Dennis was elected to the FBA Board in 2013.

Lurlene Henderson

Lurlene is a descendant of the Wakka Wakka people, the Kabi Kabi people, and South Sea Islander heritage from Pentecost Island in Vanuatu. Lurlene is a current Board Director of the Indigenous Wellbeing Centre (in Bundaberg), and lives in Raglan.

Lurlene is the Native Title and Cultural Heritage spokesperson for the Lonweigh Aboriginal Corporation and Chairperson of the Bunya Peoples’ Aboriginal Corporation. She is also an active member of the University of Southern Queensland Elders and Valued Persons Advisory Board. Lurlene was elected to the FBA Board in 2014.

Greg Chalmers

Greg is the CEO of Jellinbah Group, a mid-size Bowen Basin metallurgical coal producer which produces 13mtpa from two large open cut mines. He is degree qualified in Mining Engineering and has statutory qualifications in both metalliferous and coal mining, coupled with over 35 years’ experience in senior management in both technical and operating roles.

Greg is well respected in his industry and is a Director of Queensland Resources Council and Chairman of the Gladstone Coal Exporters Executive. Greg was elected to the FBA Board in 2013.

Cr Gail Godwin-Smith

Gail is a Councillor on Central Highlands Regional Council. She lives at “Mount Panorama” south of Rolleston where her family operates a beef cattle and dry-land cropping operation.

Gail is an advocate for natural resource management and has served as the Chair of the Central Highlands Regional Resource Use Planning Cooperative (CHRRUP), one of FBA’s delivery partners from 2003 to 2008, and is currently a Board Member. Gail was appointed to the FBA Board as a local government representative in 2012.

Paul Walmsley

Paul became Regional Director, Department of Primary Industries in 2003, and today is Regional Director, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, supporting the state Government to position Agriculture as a key pillar of the Queensland Economy.

Paul believes that the strength of the regions is in our ability to understand the needs of our customers and to respond effectively with services that support individuals to grow their businesses as successful, viable enterprises. Paul was appointed to the FBA Board in 2016.

Graham Volck

Graham has been successfully growing irrigated crops, predominantly cotton, in the Emerald region for 30 years. With a Bachelor Degree in Agricultural Science, Graham spent his early career with the Department of Primary Industries (DPI) as an Extension Agronomist in Toowoomba, St George and Emerald, gaining significant insight into the agricultural industry.  His cropping background has led to an interest in habitat and wildlife within the farming landscape and he is mindful of both in his production system. Having a say in the sustainable management of our natural assets led to his involvement on the Board. Graham was elected to the FBA Board in 2016.